6 reasons for letting go

20140305-201146.jpg

I’m sorry, I’m going to have to let you go. Words everyone dreads to hear from a HR professional. But it’s not what you think.

In a few weeks it’ll be spring so I’m having a clear out. There’s some things in here that have been laid around for years. They’re holding me back, weighing me down, tying me to the past and stopping me from moving on.

Oh and by “in here” I mean inside my head. It’s time to get rid of that mental baggage, and here’s what I have ear marked for removal:

1. Any Dead Horses
I’m sick of flogging them. I’m not giving up, I’m just admitting things aren’t working and moving on to new pastures and new projects.

2. Failures
Even when we acknowledge we’ve tried our best, it’s easy to fall into a trap of disappointment and regret when things don’t turn out as planned. I’m wiping the slate clean. I’ll learn from past mistakes but they aren’t going to hold me back.

3. Resentment
Ill will and resentment suck the fun out of life. They poison relationships and divide teams. Forgive and forget and start afresh.

4. Worry
Stress and fear of the unknown is hard to bear. I can’t predict the future so I’m not going to waste time fretting over it. I’ll just plan as best I can so I’m able to cross those bridges when I come to them.

5. Wasted Time
It’s easy to get frustrated when our efforts are discarded by others. I’m going to channel these feelings into lessons learned and use this to try and influence different outcomes in future.

6. Expectations
Expectations which are too high can lead to disappointment (see above). I’m approaching life with an open mind. Let’s see what this spring brings. Hopefully I’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Image credit: scene from the Disney movie, “Up”

4 thoughts on “6 reasons for letting go

  1. Pingback: Best Blogs 7 March 2014 | ChristopherinHR

Leave a Reply

