Why I’m Looking Forward to #CIPD14

20141023-194005.jpg

It looks like I’m finally going to have to crack. I’ve been blogging now for nearly 10 months, and in that time I’ve resisted writing a blog about blogging. But in less than two weeks I’ll be living every HR blogger’s dream by taking my place on the Blog Squad for the CIPD Annual Conference 2014!

Just over a year ago things couldn’t have been more different for me. I was still on maternity leave and never imagined that another social media site would pull me away from the addictive clutches of Pinterest. Apologies to those followers who enjoyed the cake decorating tips I used to share as once I’d discovered Twitter I didn’t look back!

A few months later I decided to combine my love of writing with my passion for my career and started my blog. Now here I am – feeling very honoured and little nervous, but mainly excited! Here’s why:

1. Blogging
Blogging to me is like the introvert’s version of standing up and giving a presentation to a room full of people. Writing is a skill that’s often underestimated, and yet it’s essential. The written word is a powerful reminder of an idea or an inspiration and there’s going to be plenty of those at #CIPD14.

2. Networking
Networking is still such an essential business skill but if you’re the type of person who dreads doing the rounds churning out small talk, social media is a godsend. I enjoy connecting with people on an individual level, and I’m really looking forward to meeting those people who are part of my online professional networks face to face.

3. Learning
I’m constantly thinking, searching for new information and analysing it against my work context as HR and Business Strategy Manager at livin housing. The sessions I’m particularly looking forward to are focussed on strategy, agility and wider challenges – can’t wait!

I hope to see you there – please say hi!

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Looking Forward to #CIPD14

  1. Pingback: Best Blogs 24 October 2014 | ChristopherinHR

  2. Pingback: CIPD - Roll-up, Roll-up, Read All about It! #CIPD14

Leave a Reply

